Young Writers Award

The festival’s annual award for young writers.

In association with Queen’s Park Books

The QPBF Young Writers Award was inaugurated in 2019. The idea of the award is to encourage young people from all backgrounds in their writing and to give them the experience of having their work enjoyed by a wider audience.

The joint winners of the first award – Marcus Denny and Ibrahim Fida – were from Malorees School and were presented with their prize by Radio DJ and author Simon Mayo and BBC Health Editor Hugh Pym.

We are excited to announce an additional prize as part of the YWA: critically acclaimed author Elizabeth Fremantle has offered to give a Creative Writing class to the English students of the winning schools in each category.

Liz will also be on the judging panel and present the awards to the winners and runners up at the festival. You can find out more about her work here: