Jonathan Coe

Jonathan Coe


Jonathan Coe was born in Birmingham, UK, in 1961. He began writing at an early age. His first surviving story, a detective thriller called The Castle of Mystery, was written when he was eight. His first published novel was The Accidental Woman in 1987, but it was his fourth, What a Carve Up!, that established his reputation as one of England’s finest comic novelists, winning the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize in 1985 and being translated into many languages.

Seven bestselling novels and many other awards have followed, including the 2005 Samuel Johnson Prize for Like A Fiery Elephant, a biography of the experimental novelist, B. S. Johnson. Jonathan lives in London with his wife and two daughters.

Jonathan Coe’s latest novel Middle England was published in 2018


‘Brilliantly funny‘ Economist

‘A writer of uncommon decency’ Observer

‘A pertinent, entertaining study of a nation in crisis’ Financial Times, Books of the Year

‘Superb’ The Times

‘[Coe’s] light, funny writing makes you feel better’ Evening Standard

‘Very, very funny’ Stylist

‘Coe is as funny and tender as ever’ Grazia

‘Exceptionally good’ BBC Radio 4, Saturday Review

‘The great chronicler of Englishness’ Independent

15:30 – 16:30 Withering England: Jonathan Coe and John Lanchester

Alexander McKenzie Stage

Withering England: Jonathan Coe and John Lanchester Two of the most astute observers of our national condition have recently published new books.  In Middle England Jonathan Coe returns to the Trotter family to write what the Financial Times described as ‘a pertinent, witty study of a nation in crisis’.  John Lanchester’s novel The Wall imagines […]